Friday, March 29, 2013

ASMR? (Though I don't have it, it sure is relaxing)

So I was asleep in my dad's bed after having recovered from being treated for a nasty throat infection today, and woke up and was all alone in the house. The radio/alarm/clock was still on as always and it was about 6:50 PM. The radio was just starting a program about dis-enrollment and casinos in tribes from California, and I listened to that for about twenty minutes. Then afterwards up came the program I had heard about in the car on the way to the doctor's office: something about a woman who had a tingling sensation in her head whenever she heard things like whispering or blocks moving, stirring paint or et cetera. She would have this sensation when the "boring" old librarian from a library read books out load to her and other six to seven-year-olds when she watched a certain TV program, and, when she was an adult and could watch as much television as she wanted, she began to be obsessed with home shopping shows and watched makeup and jewelry videos on youtube. Once she had watched so many videos she couldn't find any more, she spelled jewelry with two 'l's and found a video at the top of the list with "ASMR" at the top. The person was whispering; showing off her grandmother(who had passed away)'s old jewelry. She was whispering. She began to wonder if ASMR was a medical condition, and when googling it found the following description: Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response (ASMR) is a term used to describe a sensory experience characterized by a tingling sensation in the head and scalp, which can be triggered by sounds like whispering or brushing, and visual stimulus like painting or drawing. On YouTube, the phenomenon inspired the creation of “whisperer” videos, in which people attempt to trigger the viewer’s ASMR by speaking in a soft voice and making various sounds with inanimate objects.

So after coming back from my dad's room I searched up ASMR on Youtube. I found this video of someone moving wooden blocks around and whispering in dutch to trigger ASMR. I do not personally have ASMR but I find this rather relaxing. Me having asperger's syndrome, I am fascinated by these sounds and could watch a person moving blocks for a long time. If you have asperger's you should check this out as well as if you are fascinated by these things and/or need relaxation.

Thursday, March 28, 2013

MoF: First Thoughts

ShizuhaMOF
MoF's first boss for Reimu, Shizuka Aki
  So I finally got to downloading Touhou 10: Mountain of Faith, also known as MoF. I downloaded it from a nifty Touhou site called Moriya Shrine (moriyashrine.weebly.com), which is funny, because MoF actually features the inhabitants of that particular shrine, Suwako Moriya, Sanae Kochiya, and Kanako Yasaka. Before I start playing and tell you all about my thoughts about the game, I'd like to establish the storyline for all of you who don't know it already:
   The Hakurei Shrine is slowly losing followers and is getting visited less and less often. Reimu is upset and angry when a voice tells her she should just pack up and leave. She looks around and finds a new shrine with it's own lake, called the Moriya Shrine. Their official deity is Kanako Yasaka. Reimu believes the person who told her to give up was belonging to this shrine.
So now I am going to try MoF. I'll tell you how far I get on my first try! (Before I started I had to install a font)...
   So I only got to the Stage 1 Boss and died shortly after. But I'm out of practice. Now, I'll say what I liked about this game and any faults I encountered:
Great Things: Shizuka was an adorable, kind, funny first boss. I liked her a lot, especially since she was a god and gods are cool. Her back story as being the harvest god and smelling good and yummy since she always took care with her odor was interesting, and I liked her design. I also liked the difficulty level, much easier than EoSD. I'd recommend it to newbies if you had more lives. Also the music was nice. I think ZUN's art was beautiful in this game and had really improved since EoSD and even PoFV.

Faults: You don't see stats for charcters

Basically I love it.

Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Let's Play Videos are AWESOME

   So I've been watching more Let's Play Videos from that NakaTeeli guy on youtube... They are seriously hilarious..... I finished watching Let's Play (Try) Eryi's Action two days ago, and am watching Let's Try Magical Drop V (Five; 5). I'm pretty disapointed that they made it harder in the patch... I could never play it now... ^_^; So they fixed Death (Who was so broken she could out-quota Fortune, on hard, and out-combo her in only a few moves) and made it hard. I've had a hard enough time playing touhou, thank you very much. Anyway, on to Eryi's Action and my thoughts on that game.... 
   I liked Eryi's character design a lot!! And Farta, despite her name. Though she is a jerk. She stole Eryi's delicious melon that Eryi had ben waiting to eat! But on with the post... I liked the negetive lives. Really torments the player.(Laughs nervously) I don't know if I'd be up for that. Also the many ways to die is very interesting. I like the vases. They just kill you in the most interesting, stupid, epic, and/or surprising ways. I also like how you have to glitch the wall to get through that last level.

So, after all this talking, I really enjoyed the videos and thought the games looked fun.

Shiny OUT!

Quick Touhou-related post

   So I've been playing Touhou for a while now and am still not clear on all the residents of the Scarlet Devil Mansion... I kind of suck at this ^_^;... Anyway I am looking on the wiki because oh my god I do not know who that red-haired chick with devil wings is. Lol.
   Oh my lord how much harder could that have gotten?! I had to check wikipedia because that wiki had like no info on her... It didn't mention her in the page of the SDM.... Really? Since I couldn't find a gif of her I had to do one of Sakuya... Oh well... Anyway, I discovered some new "useful" knowledge about the Touhou Danmaku game series.... Her name is Koakuma! I searched up her theme on YouTube but all I could find was her theme from Pocket Wars 2... Which, by the way, was kinda gross. It was a remix(?!) of her theme, apparently.
   But currently I have no intention of beating Koakuma in a battle to see for myself what her theme music is... Although my copy of EoSD isn't broken like PoFV, I can't get through Stage 3 (Meilein's) and that music is making me want to kill my computer. Which wouldn't be a good idea. In other words, I have been taking a break from EoSD and am currently wondering if I'll ever have a chance of beating the game, not including Flandre. Flandre is scary, I would die in a flaming death flame of flamingly deathness within  the first like two seconds of playing. Spellcards. They scare me.